Skip to main content

Doc group to present director with life achievement award

By Gregg Kilday

Oct 28, 2009, 07:59 PM ET

The International Documentary Assn. will present its 2009 Life Achievement Award to Errol Morris at its 25th annual IDA Awards on Dec. 4 at the DGA in Los Angeles.

An Oscar winner for “The Fog of War,” Morris has directed such distinctive documentaries as “The Thin Blue Line” and “Standard Operating Procedure.”

The group’s Pioneer Award will go to producer, director and writer Nicolas Noxon, who has worked with ABC, David Wolper, Columbia Pictures Television, MGM, Time-Life and National Geographic.

The IDA will present its Amicus Award for only the third time in its history. It will go to attorney and independent film advocate Michael Donaldson, an expert on fair use and other clearance-related issues and author of the book “Clearance and Copyright.” The group said the award “acknowledges the friends of the documentary who have contributed significantly to our industry.”

“This American Life” host and producer Ira Glass, a past IDA Award recipient, will host the event.